Yearling prep

Discussion in 'Horse Racing' started by Shiobhan, Aug 31, 2009.

1. Shiobhan

Shiobhan Well-known Member

now this is just a general enquiry I dont need it but becuase this is my first time now Im curious.

Who has sent a yearling to the sales before and what kind of money did you spend doing the prep or if you did it yourself.

My first yearling is no Redoute Choice's but from a good so called bread winner stallion. I thought he was the bee's knee when I picked him lol but hey it was my first time.

His booked in with the stud to do prep however if he doesnt make first select/premier select then I will pull him from the sale as I dont know if he would make the money back to cover the prep espscially after last years down fall with the economice crisis etc the prices were lower than normal.

So after I got the stud's prices I just had a sniff around to try get a vague idea if they were all the same. I figure studs with higher prep cost are perhaps? dont quote me Im a novice/first time hobby breeder here so DONT shoot me! they are proberly the ones to try get in with as they obviously are in demand and do a good job. Not to say others dont but demand would reflect pricing no?

the price difference was a little wow'ing to me. I found some close to $45 dollers cheaper per day, most average about 20-30 cheaper. And two were 20-30 more than the one his in with.

So just wondering about yearling sales in general about their preps etc. I know alot of work and time goes into them. But I felt it was a kick in the teeth but I spose thats becuase I jumped in with my first mare (I openly admitted she was not the best mare to use form wise) and foal was always a possible keeper. Just thought I would dabble in a sale or two and it dishearten me some what.