Yearling - need more feed?

Discussion in 'Feeding Horses' started by ChillOut, Dec 4, 2007.

1. ChillOut

ChillOut Well-known Member

Reading all the feeding posts

Last edited: Jul 31, 2008
  2. Teddie1980

Teddie1980 Well-known Member

i don't think so his weight looks fine, boy he is cute :)* But if he gets really skinny then yes, when was he last wormed?

3. ChillOut

4 weeks ago :)

4. Troppo

Troppo Well-known Member

ooo what a handsome young man.. I love appy's *dream*...one day :)

I think his weight looks okay

If your worried I would just give him some chaff and pellets, hopefully he will develop a taste for them

5. Elanda

Elanda Gold Member

He looks fine:) IMO one of the biggest mistakes people can make with growing babies is to have too much weight on**)

6. madcow

madcow Guest

OK I'm no expert on feeding babies and am very new to all this.

I think your yearlings weight looks good and it is better to have them slightly thinner than too fat as you can get probs with DJD's.

There is a school of thought that babies do best off natural pastures and grass etc but I think Australia esp in Summer would be lacking in Nutrition and not much value in it. Even with the addition of salt licks and mineral blocks I think the diet might be lacking. Natuaral grass Diet deffinately good for the gut though.

I'm going with the school of thought that babies need lots of protein to grow well bone and muscle etc which is why weaning and grow pellets and other feeds for youngstock are so high in Protein. Again too much Protein can cause probs with DJD's but that's where you just have to keep an eye on things.

It's weird that your younster is not interested in weaning pellets? Did it eat them with it's mum as a foal, maybe a new taste?

I don't have much grass in my paddocks and my babies get the following 2x a day......Chaff, Lucern Chaff, Weaning Pellets, Equlibrium mineral mix and carrots. Plus oaten hay once a day.