What is your horsey goal for the year

Discussion in 'Horse Riding' started by Marianne, Jan 27, 2009.

1. Marianne

Marianne Gold Member

Revisited - What is your horsey goal for the year

My goal is to be able to canter my horse up the beach (without looking un-co and falling off) by next summer.

I was watching the kids and some young adults at the weekend riding their horses/ponies cantering up the beach looking all co-ordinated and graceful. I was so in awe. I want to be able to do that.

I've been riding for 30 years and can't do bareback, just not confident. I just rode her tonight bareback around the bush at a walk might I add. Figure practice makes perfect. Trying to work out how it's done?

Any tips would be gratefully received..... Do I grip with my??? what, am I supposed to wrap my legs around her? She is nice and barrel like so comfort is a given. Do I lean back, forward. There surely must be a trick to this...

So what is your horsey goal for the year?

DON'T FORGET TO KEEP US POSTED ON YOUR PROGRESS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR.

Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  2. CharlieChick

CharlieChick Active Member

Entering way more shows i only did 2 last year. Also compete in a 90cm round :p

3. chante306

chante306 Well-known Member

haha i know the feeling
    i just hold on for dear life
    hes nice and round (fat) so its not to bad

my goal is to start competing and eventing on bluey
    without eliminations at ALL

lol

goodluck with your goals every1 :)

4. wattle6180

wattle6180 Gold Member

100% committment to rallies and getting Oliver to self-load!!

5. trippa

trippa Well-known Member

my goals are

competing in more comps-jumping and maby a xcountry clinic, doing well in western and going to the beach with trip, he has never been.

6. Imperial

Imperial Well-known Member

my goal for this year is to become the best trick rider i can be.
    and The Oakster seems to like the change of pace as well:D

7. raindear

raindear Well-known Member