What Colour is he?

Discussion in 'Colour Questions' started by PPH, Mar 17, 2008.

1. PPH

PPH Guest

Hi all,:)

Just wanted to get some other ppl's opinions on something.

My stallion Hootch is registered as brown/black in colour, but I have long been suspicious that he is a burnt buckskiin or something to that effect.
    It is not difficult to change but I am no colour expert and would like to know what others think.:)

Below are some pics taken today.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So does this count as a dorsal stripe or not and if so does anyone know what colour he would be?

Thank you and all advice and information appreciated.

Cheers
    BM

2. Heifer

Heifer Gold Member

id say bay. my old horse had a strong dorsal strip and was def. bay

3. pso

pso Gold Member

Whoa! Thats a butt!**)

now I've got that song stuck in my head!:p *#)

Sorry, cant help on colour...what colour were his sire and dam, and has he thrown coloured foals?:)

4. mirawee

mirawee Gold Member

Buckskins do not have dorsal stripes... or at least they can but it is not a requirement :p Any colour horse can have one... I have a grey with a strong dorsal stripe and a friend's red bay mare had a very dark dorsal stripe.

If one of his parent's is a dilute then he may be a buckskin but the only way to know for sure is to get a DNA test (costs around $40 from memory) or have him throw a dilute foal from a non-dilute mare :)

Unless you are planning on showing him in colour classes though it really doesn't matter and most people would look at you strangely if you call him a buckskin even with proof :D

5. Sweet Euphoria

Sweet Euphoria Well-known Member

Id say hes a black/brown...the same as my boy. Will get very darker in winter months :)

Last edited: Mar 17, 2008
  6. Sassy

Sassy Gold Member