views on construction of a roundyard

Discussion in 'Training Horses' started by xyzabc, Aug 19, 2013.

1. xyzabc

xyzabc New Member

Good morning,
    I'd appreciate your views on construction of a roundyard. I'm a 50YO beginner rider and I have an 8YO gelding Duncan who is quiet but green, but I had a frightening fall off another horse last year and am nervous about getting back on.

I now have a trainer who is working with me and Duncan at home, and we need a roundyard. I don't think I need a permanent set up so am assuming temporary is the way to go.

Am I better off getting portable panels, or using tape rail to make one? Pros and cons? Tape rail could be fixed to trees to use a natural near-circle, with one or two steel pickets to fill the gap. My OH is set against using steel pickets (he wants to use rosewood instead), specially since he was there for last year's spectacular fall and is not a horse person anyway. I don't know if portable panels would be any safer though (we're planning for worst case, while aiming to prevent it).

I don't need another fall but I am finding my OH being anywhere around when trying to work with Duncan just sends my anxiety levels through the roof; on the other hand OH doesn't want me doing anything if he's not there to watch. I'm hoping that having found a trainer we both feel secure with, plus a roundyard, settles OH down as he is now contributing more to my anxiety.

I need to decide on a roundyard, so your experiences would be appreciated.

Thanks,

2. Caroline

Caroline Well-known Member

Withnell Panels in Bullsbrook are great to deal with and build strong portable panels. :)*

Have you considered going to a riding school (where there will be instructors anyway) to rebuild your confidence?? Probably the best place for you to do so. Horses get jack of going round and around very quickly and that can create other issues for you to deal with, especially being a very nervous beginner. Safety first!! **)

3. Macchiato