Torn Muscle Management

Discussion in 'Horse Management' started by Zegger, Jan 31, 2014.

1. Zegger

Zegger Well-known Member

So I threw myself in the deep end and got a 8 yr OTTB , who raced till he was 7.

He has this indent on his right hip , which we have identified as torn muscle . He had it when I got him and he went for a hoon that day and pulled up very sore the next day . Now I think the combination of not been worked much and been locked up in a small area , is half the reason, when he smacko, he hurt himself .

I have no experience with torn muscles , but it is an old injury. Old enough to cause the hoof on the same leg to become flared from compensating. Now what would be the best way to approach this ? I want to use him for arc and some low level eventing (starting at e grade). He also has a healed bowed tendon , which is another story all together.

My plan of attack was , to get some bowen ( which he started today with a fantastic girl) , slowly correct his feet so he is balanced , get the chiro out to make sure he is good elsewhere. Then bring him softly into work and focus on building some strength in his hindquarters.

Is there also any kind of supplements that could help the muscle? .

[​IMG]

2. PsoasPony

PsoasPony Guest

That looks a bit more serious than your average torn muscle.. ouch! Any ideas on what happened? Is there much scar tissue? Is the 'hip bone' ok? The area below the indent, is that old scar tissue as well?

3. Zegger

Zegger Well-known Member

No idea what happened . He had it when I bought him. We don't exactly know the extent of the damage . I'm getting a vet out to assess the full damage soon. Till then , he is just resting in the paddock. He has been ridden before without getting sore and that included jumping .

I will try and get better pictures tonight.

4. Caroline

Caroline Well-known Member