Sheep work

Discussion in 'Horse Riding' started by Kodas Karen, Mar 19, 2015.

1. Kodas Karen

Kodas Karen New Member

I haven't post much, and I've been debating whether or not to type this so I've thrown caution to the wind and I'm going to anyway!

I'm still on a high. Two weekends ago I did something I've never done before on a horse and I had a ball! My friend texts me Friday night to ask if I want to help her move the sheep on our horses from the top paddock to the bottom paddock, her hubby was to crutch them then we had to move them back.

I told her I've never done it before and I don't know how Aladdin would go (my 13 year old Standie). She said who cares, come out and give it a crack! So I did and we did AWESOME! and had a ball. Best part of the day was when the sheep began to run in the wrong direction. In an instant and without me feeling like I asked him to do anything, we were straight into a canter to beat the sheep up the fence line, turned, faced and pushed them back! Amazing! After the sheep work was done we went for a 12km trail ride. Awesome weekend!

Last weekend I was motivated to again try something I've never done. I saddled up Aladdin and ponied Koda (paint in my avatar) into the bush across the road from where I live. I've done it around my property but never out and about. It was a windy day and neither of my ponies put one foot wrong. We rode through water, past the noisy frogs in the creek and through all the trees. Did a little trotting with the walking and no cantering because Koda is more forward moving than Aladdin and I wasn't sure if I had the rope skills to correct Koda if she got in front of us. I did okay at the trot though, so I'm happy with what we did.

Like I said, I'm still on a high from those 2 weekends, I'm going to try and challenge myself again this weekend and try something under saddle I haven't tried before. I haven't thought of it yet, but I'm sure something will come to me!