Possibility of Dilute????

Discussion in 'Colour Questions' started by Bubbles, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Bubbles

Bubbles Well-known Member

I had some one tell me the other day that their foal is a dilute, but both parents are solid colours.

Is this possible????????

I would guess it would be best to get it tested, well that is what I was thinking :)

2. Pretty sure the dilute gene is co-dominant - that means that if it is present, it WILL show. Don't quote me on it though - I'm no expert!

So basically, out of two non-dilute parents, you CANNOT get a dilute foal unless some freaky genetic mutation happens.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2011
  3. kiraSpark

kiraSpark Gold Member

Not possible :)

Unless one of the 'solid' parents is actually a dilute but has been mistaken for a solid color. Like those really dark browns that people think are just brown/black but actually are smokey black.

4. Kate O

Kate O New Member