Instructors interested in assisting with standardbred retraining

Discussion in 'Training Horses' started by Crackerjack, Aug 1, 2014.

1. Crackerjack

Crackerjack New Member

Hi All,

I am looking at taking on a 4 stb year old gelding who has been retired as a racing prospect as he is too slow. For the most part he has been worked being ridden rather than in a jog cart so he has a basic understanding of ridden aids.

Im going out to veiw him on the weekend with a veiw to take him on if he is sound & level headed. I've had a couple of years with limited riding however I am still very confident & not too unbalanced.

Prior to the break over the last couple of years I had been riding everyday for 14 years on a variety of horses (OTTB to pleasure hacks). My previous riding horse was a TB with a serious attitude problem & we managed okay however he is retired now due to soundness issues/age - hence the look for a new pony.

I am looking to find instructors that have an interest in working with riders and STB's off the track? Are there any?

I would be looking to spell the new horse for a couple of months, perhaps longer prior to commencing any serious ridden work, remouthing/restarting is an option I have looked into with Fred Watkins too.

Would love feedback from any other Standy owners or enthusiast or even from people who know anyone :)

Cheers,
    Megs

2. Freestyle

Freestyle Well-known Member

Hi :)

Where are you located? I'm South of the River, so the ones i know of may not be of use...

Bayley Thomas has extensive experience with stbs and a good knowledge of the breed so would be a great starting point.

Marj Radford is very good with them also.

You may also find that Ian Smith would be quite good when he is here for his clinics as his sister is a stb trainer so i would expect ian to have some idea about the breed.