how do you clean your stable?

Discussion in 'Horse Management' started by abararka, Dec 17, 2007.

1. abararka

abararka Well-known Member

ok guys,
    this is what i do to my horse's stable. in order to minimize the ammonia smell and help dry it out. in the morning i clean all the poo out and then i rake all the sawdust to the sides so the whole middle can be dried out. then in the arvo i pull in all back and rake it over nice and neatly.

any opinions or ideas on different types of cleaning the stables?

2. Derby Chaser

Derby Chaser New Member

Hi, to help get rid of that ammonia smell sprinkle lime on the concrete. We normally pressure wash our stables out each spring, but meanwhile we use the lime for control.

3. Saiorse

Saiorse Well-known Member

I'm so pleased to say I don't use my stables anymore, and saves all this trouble, lol!

Years ago, when I worked as a groom, we had straw beds, had to thoroughly skip them out daily, bank the bedding against the wall then re-lay in the evening. Lot's of chemicals got used to clean the concrete (I dread to think what offensive smells & harm the horses endured) and we used to paint the stable walls yearly - another array of nasty chemicals to avoid the place remotely smelling of horse.

I remember being excited when shavings became popular, but there is something about a deep straw bed that appeals - if not just for the "Jilly Cooper Riders fantasy factor" (those who've read it know what I'm talking about).

I've helped people clean out paper stables - so annoying, but have to say the best bedding I've ever seen is hemp. It was so easy to skip out, and no offensive odours, or need for disinfectant etc. Much cheaper in he long run too, less waste. You never go back to shaving once you've used a product like Aubiose or Woody Pet.

Meanwhile, good luck cleaning your stables. How did we become serving wenches to our horses? lol.

XJ

4. Haulix

Haulix Well-known Member