Getting started in Eventing

Discussion in 'Horse Showing and Events' started by Dusty Road, Mar 21, 2014.

1. Dusty Road

Dusty Road Well-known Member

My little stock horse and I are going to have our first crack at a one day event this year. BUT I have never done anything like this before, so what do I need to know, and what do I need to have?

I have an all purpose saddle (it is a bit small but I can fit into it!) I only have a bright purple PVC hanovarian bridle, and I don't have an english style saddle pad. So I will need a new saddle pad, and a new leather bridle, but do I need a body protector or anything else like that?

Which would be a good event to start with, a pony club event or an EA event?

Also my partner is considering tagging along with his one eyed steed. Would he be able to compete as well?

2. celestialdancer

celestialdancer Gold Member

YES to a body protector; correct helmet and boots too.

Boot for your horse is a good idea for XC.

Number holder for you and for the bridle.

PC events tend to be lower key.

You need to have a helper at events, so your partner would be super handy for that ;)

If he wants to ride, you'll need two helpers, or nominate each other for your helper duty.

Hope that helps.

3. jwithoud

jwithoud New Member

Welcome welcome to Eventing!
    If you come to a PC event, please don't be afraid to ask for help - you would be surprised at the wonderful people that will offer advice, gear and support.
    Have a look at your rules before coming to either an EA or PC event.

The PC rules are available online for free, visit the PC Eventing webpage and have a peruse Eventing

Also, at PC events you do have to report to gear check first, and be inspected before proceeding to your warm up and ride. GC rules can baffle people - there are lots of them, but to help you, have a look at these:
    Gear Checking (gear checking website, download the Open Rider Precis and the Eventing GC sheet on this page)