Emergency Stop in Cart

Discussion in 'Horse and Rider Safety' started by fishiz3434, Mar 25, 2012.

1. fishiz3434

fishiz3434 Active Member

I'm very new to the driving scene and have started my pony in a little buggy, he's been going great but today got excited and then spooked and bolted, the buggy has no brakes and I ended up doing a sort of one rein stop but the only reason he really stopped was because he saw the horses in the paddock next to where I pulled him.
    He is bit-less because he has teeth problems but he is very responsive to the halter which he is fine being ridden in.

Is there a correct way to do an emergency stop AND does anyone know where i can get a hand brake put on the buggie (I'd like one regardless of the stopping issue)

2. kp

kp Well-known Member

A one rein stop is dangerous in a cart. You will tip the cart up, causing you to come out and then have a loose bolting horse with a cart on. It is a recipe for disaster. Why do you want a hand brake on the cart?

We're you in a bitless bridle or ordinary halter? Even if a horse is fine to ride in a halter, I doubt I would ever drive one in a cart with just a halter.

I have generally found that the worst thing I can do with a bolting horse is try to pull it up immediately. Allow them to go forward, then try and stop them. Easier said than done though.

3. blitzen

blitzen Gold Member

good luck with this. have horrifying memories of our shetland bolting in the cart & one wheel hitting a cement water trough, flipping the whole frigging contraption through the air.

scary.

4. Deb2

Deb2 Guest

I think you are very brave to drive a pony or horse bitless.

I would not! If the pony could not wear a bit I would not consider it suitable for harness. Perhaps that shows my ignorance, as I have only started four horses/pony's to harness before, and I have no problem or issue with riding a horse bitless, but in harness...I think is asking for trouble!