Black liver chestnut?

Discussion in 'Colour Questions' started by Late Starter, Oct 9, 2008.

1. Late Starter

Late Starter Well-known Member

I've heard and seen liver chestnut horses where it's a deep/dark chestnut colour. What or how can a horse be a BLACK liver chestnut; I'm confused as black and chestnut are different colours.

2. Remaani

Remaani Guest

I have a filly thats classed as a black liver chestnut. However she's also greying out. ;)
    Her mane is still ever soo dark, it doesnt look chestnut, nor black but looks kinda purple depending on the light.
    Her chestnut patches (she's pinto) just dont look chestnut coloured at all.....

3. Late Starter

This particular horse that has been described as a black liver chestnut is an 11 yrs old Arabian derivative so would it stay that colour as it is older?

Do they actually look more black than chestnut?

4. Horsetalk

Horsetalk Well-known Member

I'm not an expert on colours, so please forgive me lol. :p
    A true liver chestnut has to have black genes and looks more on the black side than just a darker chestnut lol. :) Do you have a photo of the horse in question?

5. Remaani

Remaani Guest

Here is the pics of my filly, but please remember she is greying out. ;)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And NO, she's not brown or bay. ;-)

6. WITCHERY

WITCHERY Well-known Member

rem was she classed this at birth or have you come to the conclusion because she is greying out.

IT's a shame they grey out!

I am putting my mare who is a chestnut (Fanta colour) to a stallion who is a Liver chesnut I donno if you would call him a black liver chestnut but he is pretty dark close to being a black/brown however when you look at him close you can see he is a chestnut.