ARCA Freestyle Dressage

Discussion in 'Horse Showing and Events' started by Bethy, Jun 9, 2008.

1. Bethy

Bethy Gold Member

Hi Everyone,

This is my first year competing at ARCA and they're holding a dressage day at the end of August. I'm pretty keen to give it a go and I'd like to give the freestyle's a go as well.

I've never done anything like this before so I have a few questions:

1. I've downloaded the freestyle info from the EFA website but it only starts at Novice level. Where do I find the requirements for the prelim test?

2. What is the maximum number of tests you're allowed to do on the day? Is this number for only individual tests or does it include the pairs and quadrille test as well?

3. How much does the costume and music come into the marks?

4. What level of tests are done for the pairs and quadrille classes?

5. Do people usually do more than 1 freestyle test? As in a pairs one and an individual one or just one or the other?

cheers
    Beth

Last edited: Jun 9, 2008
  2. wildsteel

wildsteel Well-known Member

ditto for me too, i need to know all of that

the program should be out soon, its nemo (i think) who is organising it

bahh humbug i will only be back from meekathara for 3 weeks by the time that show is on, so i have three weeks to turn bandit from spell condition into dressage horse hahah

going to try and plan my freestyle before i go away but cant choose movements or choreography yet coz dont no what levels are being offered!!!

3. nannygoat

nannygoat Gold Member

There are those here that will tell you better than I, but this will get you going.
    From memory, ARCA is a little more flexible with the tests than on the efa site, but I still think they limit it too 3 test total for the day.
    I know a couple of years ago I did two individual tests, a f/style and a pas de deux at Gidge, as did others, but I think it was a bit much to cope with.