Arca challenge

Discussion in 'Horse Showing and Events' started by wildsteel, Mar 26, 2009.

1. wildsteel

wildsteel Well-known Member

so whose going, doing what...

anyone know what the grounds are like?

programme looks great **) good luck to avon valley and well done for putting it all together!

2. Freestyle

Freestyle Well-known Member

I'd like to go but I think it will make me ineligible for newcomers next year :(

3. ZaZa

ZaZa Guest

I was thinking about going, but decided it's probabley a little too far from home.
    Would take me over 2 hours to get there and I'm not too good at really early mornings. *#)
    The programme looks great though **)

4. wildsteel

wildsteel Well-known Member

yeah not sure how far toodyay is from henley brooke but fingers crossed.

im going to do the hacking, the jumping, and the handy pony. dont think as a combination that we have enough balance for barrel racing lol!!!

5. beaudacious

beaudacious Well-known Member

if all goes well i think i'll be ditching pony club and going to this instead **)

might have to see about camping though as its a bit of a hike.

6. Secret85

Secret85 Well-known Member

I haven't seen notification of this...
    When is it?

7. Lily

Lily Well-known Member

It'll probably take you an hour and a quarter at the most. Maybe an hour...

There are a load of undercover stalls to put the horses in. Bring two leadropes, as you must cross tie them, there are no gates in the stalls. Otherwise you can tie to the float, it's not a lot further away. There's water at each end of the rows of stalls.

The grounds are spacious, heaps of parking, plenty of room to warm up etc. Last time I rode there the ground was a bit hard in the jumping area.

You have to walk over the racetrack then get on (the grounds are set inside the racetrack) not ride over it.

The arenas aren't huge nor were they perfectly flat last I rode in them, but are a good depth of sand, so nice to ride in.